Intramural Sports

NC State students playing intramural sports flag football. We offer a wide variety of league sports and special events throughout the year for NC State students and Carmichael Complex members.


Weather/Field Condition Status

We will make initial decisions concerning the postponement or cancellation of games due to inclement weather by 3 p.m. Sunday – Friday, however, the status of scheduled games may change throughout the evening due to changing conditions. Participants should call 919-515-7529 and select “2” for “Intramural and Club Sports” to reach the field status hotline for this information. The hotline will be updated as weather conditions change. If intramural sports games are canceled, the team captain will receive notification through email. Teams should not assume that games are canceled simply because of rain, nor should they assume the fields are open simply because it looks sunny at their location. Due to limited facility space, it is not guaranteed that games will be made up due to inclement weather or field conditions.


Summer Eligibility

Students are eligible to participate in summer Intramural Sports leagues if they are registered for summer classes or if they have a summer gym membership and were registered students taking classes in the spring semester and have registered for classes in the fall.

Defaults

As a courtesy to opponents and to avoid being charged with a forfeit, teams may request a default for a maximum of two games per season they will be unable to attend. All defaults must be made known to the Sports Programs office by 3 p.m. on the day of the game by completing the Intramural Sports Default and Playoff Reschedule Request Form. For games scheduled Saturday or Sunday, the form must be completed by 3 p.m. Friday. Any team member may complete the default form. We will contact both teams after a successful default form has been received.

Playoff Reschedule Requests

Due to facility space and time limitations, playoff games through the Round of 16 will not be rescheduled. For quarterfinal, semifinal and championship games, team captains will have the opportunity to fill out the Intramural Sports Default and Playoff Reschedule Request Form at least 48 hours prior to their scheduled game. Sports Programs staff will do their best to honor these requests, but it is not guaranteed that the conflicts can be avoided.


Officials and Scorekeeper Hiring Clinics

We hire over 100 officials and scorekeepers each semester in a variety of different sports. Applicants do not need to have previous officiating/scorekeeping experience, but some experience playing or knowledge of the sport is preferred. Our jobs provide flexible evening hours around your class schedule in a fun environment where employees gain skills that will transfer to all kinds of career paths. Officials and Scorekeepers may apply for multiple positions and are encouraged to also participate in Intramural Sports.

See upcoming training clinic dates below. To apply, you must complete an online application here and then attend each clinic for the position(s) you are interested.

Scorekeeper:
Rules Clinic – Sunday 8/25 5 p.m. – Witherspoon 126
Scrimmages – Tuesday 8/27 or Wednesday 8/28 5-10 p.m. – Miller Fields

Soccer Official:
Rules Clinic – Sunday 8/25 6 p.m. – Witherspoon 126
Field Clinic – Monday 8/26 6 p.m. or 8 p.m. – Miller Fields
Scrimmages – Tuesday 8/27 or Wednesday 8/28 5-10 p.m. – Miller Fields

Flag Football Official:
Rules Clinic – Sunday 8/25 8 p.m. – Witherspoon 126
Field Clinic – Monday 8/26 6 p.m. or 8 p.m. – Miller Fields
Scrimmages – Tuesday 8/27 or Wednesday 8/28 5-10 p.m. – Miller Fields

Cricket Official:
Rules Clinic – Sunday 8/25 4 p.m. – Witherspoon 126
Scrimmages – Thursday 8/29 5-10 p.m. – Miller Fields

Volleyball Official:
Rules Clinic – Sunday 9/15 6 p.m. – Witherspoon 126
Court Clinic – Monday 9/16 6 p.m. or 8 p.m. – Carmichael Gym Courts 6-7
Scrimmages – Tuesday 9/17 or Wednesday 9/18 5-10 p.m. – Carmichael Gym Courts 6-7

Basketball Official:
Rules Clinic – Sunday 9/15 6 p.m. – Witherspoon 126
Court Clinic – Monday 9/16 6 p.m. or 8 p.m. – Carmichael Gym Courts 2-3
Scrimmages – Tuesday 9/17 or Wednesday 9/18 5-10 p.m. – Carmichael Gym Courts 2-3


Contact Us

Sports Programs

wellrec-intramural-sports@ncsu.edu


Summer 2019 Intramural Sports

Summer 2019 Special Events

League Sports Registration Play Begins
Disc Golf (Session II) Monday, June 24 – Wednesday, July 17 Thursday, July 18

Fall 2019 Intramural Sports

Fall 2019 League Sports

League Sports Registration Play Begins Practice Nights
Flag Football Sunday, August 18 – Tuesday, September 3 Monday, September 9 Wednesday, September 21 and Thursday, September 22
7-on-7 Outdoor Soccer Sunday, August 18 – Tuesday, September 3 Monday, September 9 Wednesday, September 21 and Thursday, September 22
Ultimate Frisbee Sunday, August 18 – Tuesday, September 3 Friday, September 13 n/a
Dodgeball Sunday, August 18 – Tuesday, September 3 Monday, September 9 n/a
11-on-11 Outdoor Soccer Sunday, August 18 – Tuesday, September 3 Tuesday, September 10 Wednesday, September 21 and Thursday, September 22
Cricket Sunday, August 18 – Tuesday, September 3 Sunday, September 15 Thursday, August 29
5-on-5 Basketball Monday, September 9 – Monday, September 23 Monday, September 30 Tuesday, September 10 and Thursday, September 12
Indoor Volleyball Monday, September 9 – Monday, September 23 Monday, September 30 Tuesday, September 10 and Thursday, September 12
3-on-3 Basketball Monday, September 9 – Monday, September 23 Monday, September 30 Tuesday, September 10 and Thursday, September 12

Fall 2019 Special Events

League Sports Registration Play Begins
Fantasy Football Leagues Sunday, August 18 – Monday, August 26 Tuesday, August 27 – Thursday, August 29
Grass Volleyball Tournament Sunday, August 18 – Tuesday, September 3 Wednesday, September 4 – Friday, September 6
Spikeball Tournament Sunday, August 18 – Wednesday, September 4 Friday, September 6
Pool Battleship Monday, September 2 – Monday, September 16 Friday, September 17
Super Smash Bros. Tournament Monday, September 9 – Monday, September 23 Wednesday, September 25 – Friday, September 27
Cross Net Tournament Monday, September 16 – Monday, September 30 Friday, October 4
Chess Tournament Monday, September 30 – Monday, October 14 Thursday, October 17 – Friday, October 18
FIFA 2019 XBOX World Cup Monday, October 14 – Monday, October 28 Wednesday, October 30 – Friday, November 1
Texas Hold’em Tournament Monday, October 28 – Monday, November 11 Friday, November 15
Sports Trivia Monday, November 4 – Monday, November 18 Friday, November 22

Fall 2019 Singles/Doubles Tournaments

League Sports Registration Play Begins
Tennis Sunday, August 18 – Tuesday, September 3 Wednesday, September 4 (Singles) Thursday, September 5 (Doubles)
Table Tennis Monday, September 2 – Monday, September 16 Wednesday, September 18 (Singles) Thursday, September 19 (Doubles)
Badminton Monday, September 30 – Wednesday, October 16 Sunday, October 20 (Singles) Sunday, October 27 (Men’s and Women’s Doubles) Sunday, November 3 (Mixed Doubles)
Racquetball Monday, October 21 – Monday, November 4 Wednesday, November 6 (Singles) Thursday, November 7 (Doubles)
Pickleball Monday, November 18 – Monday, December 2 Wednesday, December 4 (Singles) Thursday, December 5 (Doubles)